The county of Sucha Beskidzka lies in the Beskids, in the south-west part of Małopolska voivodeship, and is surrounded by the following counties: the county of Żywiec in Silesia voivodeship in the west, three other counties in Małopolska voivodeship (i.e. Wadowice, Myślenice and Nowy Targ) in the north and east, and the county of Namestovo in Slovakia in the south.

It is a typically mountain region (685.75 square kilometres) and the forests, which constitute almost 50% of the county’s area, are its main natural resource. The county of Sucha Beskidzka consists of nine communes: the town of Sucha Beskidzka, the town of Jordanów, the town and the commune of Maków Podhalański and the communes of:  Budzów, Bystra-Sidzina, Jordanów, Stryszawa, Zawoja and Zembrzyce. The above-mentioned communes comprise 37 locations with the total population of 84,111.

The south part of the county, lying highest above the sea level, covers the area of the Żywiec Beskids, sub-divided into three smaller units: Pasmo Babiogórskie mountain range with the highest peak of all region of the West Beskids – Babia Góra (1,725 m), Pasmo Polic mountain range (Polica, 1,369 m), and Pasmo Jałowieckie mountain range, also called Przedbabiogórskie mountain range (Jałowiec, 1111 m). Mountain ranges belonging to lower mountain groups are characteristic for the landscape of the north part of the county: the mountain ranges of Leskowiec (918 m) and Łamana Skała (929 m) in the Small Beskids (in the north-west), and the mountain range of Koskowa Góra (866 m) in the Maków Beskids (in the north-east). Almost all area of the county lies in the river basin of the upper course of Skawa, the most important river in the region.