The commune is inhabited by nearly 11,000 people and consists of 5 villages: Łętownia, Naprawa, Osielec, Toporzysko and Wysoka. The oldest settlement, i.e. Łętownia, was established in 14th century, whereas the other villages were founded in 16th century. The Order of the Cross of Grunwald was conferred to the peasants of Wysoka for their merit in combat with overwhelming Nazi German forces in early days of the Second World War.