The commune of Stryszawa is situated in the basins of the river Stryszawka and its influents (e.g. Lachówka, Kocońka), in the junction of two Western (Orava) Beskids ranges (Jałowiec mountain in Żywiec Beskids, sometimes also classified as belonging to Maków Beskids, and Leskowiec and Łamana Skała mountains in Small Beskids. The area of the commune (113.81, i.e. 11,381 ha) is inhabited by nearly 11,840 people and embraces eight villages: Hucisko, Krzeszów, Kuków, Kurów, Lachowice, Pewelka, Stryszawa and Targoszów. The commune of Stryszawa borders the communes of Ślemień, Jeleśnia and Koszarawa (Żywiec County) in the west and south-west, the communes of Zawoja (Sucha County) in the south, the communes of Maków Podhalański and Sucha Beskidzka in the east, the commune of Zembrzyce (Sucha County) in the north-east and the commune of Andrychów (Wadowice County) in the north. The regional road No. 957 from Sucha Beskidzka (connection with national road No. 28) to Żywiec (connection with national road No. 69) and railway line Sucha Beskidzka – Żywiec (with the stations in Stryszawa, Lachowice, Kurów and Hucisko) pass through the area.

Six Roman-Catholic Parishes function in the area: Immaculate Heart of Mary Parish in Hucisko, Our Lady of Perpetual Help Parish in Krzeszów, Saint Joseph the Worker Parish in Kurów, Saints Peter and Paul Parish in Lachowice, Saint Stanislaus Bishop and Martyr Parish in Stryszawa Dolna and Saint Anne Parish in Stryszawa Górna.